Dauntless Crusader

Goodbye, generic opening post.

Posted in Miscellaneous by Phillip Andrew-Locke on July 11, 2010

What most amused me today was opening the Wikipedia page on the FIFA World Cup and seeing the champions listed as Netherlands, before the game had even begun. A few hours later I checked back, and the mods had changed the page to a semi-protected state that restricted “excessive vandalism.”

I’ve always found watching sports to be not unlike, for me, watching a performance of Rachmaninov’s piano concertos or Ken Jennings win yet another Jeopardy! game (I confess that each time I see him lose I feel depressed for a few minutes). Even though I express no interest in watching sports myself nor do I pretend to, I find sports a meaningful past time. One thing I don’t understand, though, is how one can be so attached to a certain team–given that no tangible connection exists between the individual and the team–despite consistent failure. And another thing I don’t think I will ever understand (or care enough about to seek understanding) is why professional poker airs on ESPN.

Leave a Reply

